PI Free/Pro: User permissions: What are they and how do they work? 

Not a PI Client? Request a Demo

Maybe you have a new team member and you need them to access the software. Maybe you want to collaborate with a coworker on a job you’re working on. Or maybe you’re worried about security and privacy, and you want to make people can only access what they need to.

All of these actions are covered by permissions. In this article, we’ll dive into what permissions are and how they work.

Note: In this article, ‘object’ refers to a job or team.

What’s a permission?

Any time you want to control a user’s access to something in the software, it’s called a permission. Permissions can be managed through a user’s access level.

What’s an access level

An access level defines what someone generally can or can’t do in the software. There are four access levels:

  1. Admin can view and edit every object in a module. They can also change other users’ access levels, but not their own.

    For privacy and security, you should only make users into Admins if necessary. If you have three Admins, you’re okay. If you have thirty Admins, you have a problem.
  2. Full can view every object in a module, but can only edit certain objects. They cannot change their own access level or other users’ access levels.
  3. Limited can only view or edit certain objects. They cannot change their own access level or other users’ access levels. 
  4. No Access cannot view or edit anything in the software.

Does each module have its own permissions?

Yes. In other words, you could have an Admin access level in Design, but only a Limited access level in Hire.

When I add someone to the software, what access level do they have?

By default:

  • The first user at a company to confirm their email becomes an Admin.
  • All other subsequent users become Limited.

When you invite a user to a new module, you can change their default access level.

Permissions in PI Design

How do I view or edit a team in Design?

In Design, there are four ways a user can view or edit a team:

  • They create the team. Users can always view and edit jobs they’ve created.
  • Their access level is Full (to view) or Admin (to edit).
  • A teammate adds them as a team member.

Permissions in PI Hire

How do I view or edit a job in Hire?

In Hire, there are three ways users can view or edit a job:

  • They create the job. Users can always view and edit jobs they’ve created.
  • Their access level is Full (to view) or Admin (to edit).
  • A teammate shares view or edit access to the job.
Copy link